San Diego Child Abuse Lawyer
Child Abuse Attorney San Diego, CA – Child Endangerment, Child Neglect, & Child Molestation Defense etc – CA Penal Code 288 PC
Are you looking to hire experienced, local, and best San Diego child abuse lawyer? Our law office might be your choice when charged with child molestation, endangerment, and neglect. California has a stringent child abuse laws that deals out harsh penalties for those found guilty of sex offenses towards children and teens.. This also why you need the right attorney on your side to fight for a second chance for you.
Penal Code 288 PC on Child Abuse
California has a strong legislation on child abuse with its Penal Code 288PC that protects every child from potential abuse that may mar their lives. Child abuse such as molestation, physical beating, rape and emotional abuse is a heinous crime that the authorities are working hard to curb. Any form of touch on a child that projects sexuality could be constituted as child abuse. The law refers to such offenses as “lewd acts” when performed on minors. Children who are taken advantage of through fondling on their sexual organs or misled into performing oral sexual acts face embarrassment and guilt if no proper counseling is conducted to help the children be relieved of such emotional baggage.
Different stringent penalties are stated in the Penal Code 288PC to protect children of all ages who are subjected to different types of abuse by irresponsible and unkind people.
Penalties on Abusing Children
- A maximum of 8 years state prison for light abuses
- A possible strike according to the state Three Strikes Law
- A maximum of 10 years prison if violence is used on the children
- A maximum of 16 years prison on lewd acts and abuse on children if such crimes have been repetitive over 3 months
Penalties on Offender who is 10 years older than a 14-year-old
- A maximum of 3 years in prison
Penalties on Abusing Minors Aged 16 or 17
The case would be classified as statutory rape or even sexual battery when 16/17 year olds are involved in child abuse incidents.
Penalties on Repeated Abuse Offenders
The law and society could only be gracious up to a certain number of offenses. When child abuse and molestation continues without remorse in an offender, the law would have no choice but label the offender as a sex offender with possible imprisonment to keep children safe in better homes.
Possible Child Abuse Defense
There are incidences where a child abuse charge has been wrongly slapped on an alleged defendant. Skilled criminal attorneys in the area must be hired to assist in clearing the charge and restore the defendant’s social image and reputation which could have been easily marred with such a charge.
Some of the common defenses to a child abuse or molestation charge include:
- Wrong identity of offender
- Lying accuser
- An unfounded allegation where the child is coached to accuse an innocent party
- Accidental contact with no malicious intention
- Unintended sexual arousal
Get Free Consultation From The Law Office Of Troy P Owens, Jr
Our San Diego child abuse attorney is ready to help you with your charges. So contact us for immediate help.